Thomas L. Friedman, The World Is Flat,A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century,(2005)

Thomas L. Friedman won the 2002 Pulitzer Prize for commentary, his third Pulitzer for The New York Times. He became the paper’s foreign-affairs columnist in 1995. Previously, he served as chief economic correspondent in the Washington bureau and before that he was the chief White House correspondent. In 2005, Mr. Friedman was elected as a member of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

Mr. Friedman joined The Times in 1981 and was appointed Beirut bureau chief in 1982. In 1984 Mr. Friedman was transferred from Beirut to Jerusalem, where he served as Israel bureau chief until 1988. Mr. Friedman was awarded the 1983 Pulitzer Prize for international reporting (from Lebanon) and the 1988 Pulitzer Prize for international reporting (from Israel).

About book:

The World Is Flat: A Brief History of the Twenty-First Century is an international bestselling book by Thomas L. Friedman that analyzesglobalization, primarily in the early 21st century. The title is a metaphor for viewing the world as a level playing field in terms of commerce, where all competitors have an equal opportunity. As the first edition cover illustration indicates, the title also alludes to the perceptual shift required for countries, companies and individuals to remain competitive in a global market where historical and geographical divisions are becoming increasingly irrelevant.

The book was first released in 2005, was later released as an „updated and expanded” edition in 2006, and yet again released with additional updates in 2007 as „further updated and expanded: Release 3.0”. The title was derived from a statement by Nandan Nilekani, the former CEO of Infosys.

Book in PDF format.



Douglas Adams : Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and more.

Official Douglas Adams website

Douglas Noël Adams (11 March 1952 – 11 May 2001) was an English writer, dramatist, and musician. He is best known as the author ofThe Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, which started life in 1978 as a BBC radio comedy before developing into a „trilogy” of five books that sold over 15 million copies in his lifetime, a television series, several stage plays, comics, a computer game, and in 2005 a feature film. Adams’s contribution to UK radio is commemorated in The Radio Academy’s Hall of Fame.

He also wrote Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency (1987) and The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul (1988), and co-wrote The Meaning of Liff (1983), Last Chance to See (1990), and three stories for the television series Doctor Who. A posthumous collection of his work, including an unfinished novel, was published as The Salmon of Doubt in 2002.

You can find here following books, all in PDF format:

DG 1 – Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency
DG 2 – The Long Dark Tea-Time Of The Soul
HH – The Lost Chapters
HH – Young Zaphod Plays It Safe
HH1 – Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
HH2 – The Restaurant at the End of the Universe
HH3 – Life, the Universe, and Everything
HH4 – So Long, and Thanks For All The Fish
HH5 – Mostly Harmless
Hitch-Hikers Guide – The Lost Chapters
Starship Titanic
The Meaning of Liff
The Private Life of Genghis Khan
The Salmon of Doubt
The Deeper Meaning of Liff


%d blogerów lubi to: